Halloween


My favourite thing about Halloween is pumpkin carving.  And costumes.  And candy.  And the movie ‘the nightmare before christmas’, and hocus pocus too.  But mostly the pumpkin carving.  In our family, it’s kind of the thing.

My office changed from having an office costume contest this year, to having an office pumpkin decorating contest.  My initial response was, yes, finally, I shall triumph over all! with maybe a bit of evil laughter.  I don’t often meet people who meet my level of pumpkin carvery.

my pumpkin from this year - tonight, he'll have a glowy tiny pumpkin hanging over his slightly baffled angler-fish face

my pumpkin from this year – tonight, he’ll have a glowy tiny pumpkin hanging over his slightly baffled angler-fish face

However, my office then clarified that, for insurance purposes, inviting us to come to the cafeteria and handing out knives and gourds would be a no-go.  But you’re welcome to come join us in the cafeteria for some pumpkin decorating!  We’ve got pompoms and furry wire things and glitter and paint!  Yay!

And I was just like, “no carving?  What does that even mean?  Why won’t you give me a knife?”

you don't trust me with a knife?  what about my carving tools?  I have many tiny pointy things

you don’t trust me with a knife? what about my carving tools? I have many tiny pointy things

FYI, painted on eyebrows are fun.  Trust me, it doesn’t matter what face you make to go with them, it really works.

Dinosaurs - Friday Nights at the ROM, in full costume only happens once a year, and it is MAGICAL

Dinosaurs – Friday Nights at the ROM, in full costume only happens once a year, and it is MAGICAL

I’m an ARTISTE, I don’t decorate pumpkins.  Look at my face!  Look at it!  And costumes aren’t even the most important part of Halloween for me.  PUMPKINS are!

FACE!  BOVERED!

FACE! BOVERED!

FACE!

FACE!

I considered just carving my competition pumpkin at home (I will stand by my convictions!), but decided I’d play by their rules.  It might have been a decision impacted by the fact that the ‘decorating’ party included a couple cauldrons of candy.  I might be an addict.

So I made a non-carved pumpkin, in exchange for sweet sweet tiny chocolate bars

So I made a non-carved pumpkin, in exchange for sweet sweet tiny chocolate bars

And on the morning of halloween, I woke up inspired not to paint my face, but to go for something easier and somewhat more work appropriate.

I've even got a beard.  But no axe... because if the insurance people were worried about pumpkin carving, I can only imagine what they'd have to say about an axe.

I’ve even got a beard. But no axe… because if the insurance people were worried about pumpkin carving, I can only imagine what they’d have to say about an axe.

Happy Halloween, I hope it’s full of spooks and ghouls and frightful things!  And candy.

3 Comments

  1. No in-office carving? That seems… silly.
    Our building does a competition where all companies submit one pumpkin. Within our company, there was a draw amongst those who wanted to carve. The guy who got it has some serious skill, so I think we’ve got a shot.
    I’m really only here for the candy, though, so my Halloween participation is minimal. My favourite costumes of years past were when I was young and was a Ninja Turtle, or a couple years ago when the Husband and I dressed up as the Spartans – the SNL cheerleaders.

    • I like that they at least let everyone who wanted a pumpkin participate. we got some pretty wild ones (and some that looked like they handed their 5 year old some glitter and a bottle of glue), though nothing really spectacular on the carving front. I was tempted to bring in one of my home-pumpkins, but figured I’d rather participate in the social way they wanted when they suggested a pumpkin decorating party. At home, we don’t decorate the yard, or really go all out on costumes, so pumpkins are really the thing.
      your costumes sound awesome 🙂

  2. lol, I’d wondered where, exactly, you’d put that camel 😀
    and you should totally win 😀 If you don’t, remember to get pics of the one who beat you… because I need to be properly judg-ey 😉

