The Physics of Writing


………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

……………………………………………… .  .   .   .     .       .                           .                                              .

Do you ever get an idea for something to write, run over to the computer, open a document and …………….  nothing?

Maya Angelou is quoted as saying “You can’t use up creativity.  The more you use, the more you have.”

And that sums it up very well.  I think, though, you have to consider the other side of things.  Not using your creativity – does that make you have less?  Like the speed difference between two people, one who goes out 3 times a week and walks regularly, and one who just decided to get off the couch for the first time in, like 40 McRib sandwiches and a new PVR with 500 hours of recording space.

Or is it like physics – An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted on by an unbalanced force.  That actually sums it up quite nicely.  In writing, it is much easier to keep writing when you are writing regularly.  The creative juices keep flowing.  But not easily – even on a writing roll, you have to be aware of the unbalanced forces that are leaching the urge to write, the creativity right out of you.  Work, school and family responsibilities, time management, and, for the love of all that is holy, they just added that show to Netflix, and there are seventy thousand episodes!  And once you find yourself at rest, it is a bugger to get back into motion.

There are a lot of things a person can do with their free time that don’t flex your creative muscles.  *Cough* TV *Cough*  And they’re fun!

And don't forget about lazing about in bed - that's pretty fantastic as well

And don’t forget about lazing about in bed – that’s pretty fantastic as well

Not to say that creative writing – blogging, fiction, etc – isn’t fun… but it does require a bit more focus than sprawling on the couch with a bag of chips and a Sudoku while also watching episode after episode of Supernatural.

Add on regular exercise, dog walks, making/eating food, socializing with human beings, face-to-face, and all the other things it’s necessary or at least desirable to do, and you’ve got one big lump of not in motion.  It’s just so much easier to not.

Easier, but so much less satisfying.

So, despite the fact that this took me far, far too long to put into words, I will try to get that ball rolling again, and hope that no external unbalanced forces come up for at least a little while.

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. I absolutely think the physics analogy is correct. The longer blogging break I take, the harder it is to get back at it. And then I start making up excuses about any potential ideas: it’s not that good, quality over quantity, I’ve written something similar before, everyone else has written something similar before. But then I realize I’m not ready to let my blog die, and I just dive in. Whatever. It’s for me mostly, anyway.

    • I’ve definitely been finding that when I do try to start up again, it takes a few tries before I write something that doesn’t make me cringe inside. Rereading things and I find myself thinking, “Oh god, who the hell wrote this terrible terribly worded garbage!” and then discard and stare at a new blank page, because clearly that’s a better idea 😛 I’m glad you aren’t abandoning blog any time soon!

  2. Hurrah. You and me both, Lexy; I am writing every day but the visiting has proved very hard now I am back to four days a week. I have missed your style.

    • I’m definitely feeling better and more enthusiastic about writing, the more writing I do. I’m hoping to maintain the habit, especially with Nano coming up

