A Trip through my own (Enormous) Backyard


I live in Canada, and have for most of my life.  I couldn’t possibly write all there is to write about its diversity – in people, culture, geography and weather conditions – because, frankly, I haven’t experienced very much of it.  I haven’t even made it to all of our provinces.  Some of those that I have been to, frankly, don’t count – I only have hazy memories of a childhood visit to the family farm on the border between Manitoba and Saskatchewan.

P1000250

on top of the broken bones my family thought I’d get from downhill skiing… i could have been suffocated by trees.

I made my first foray into British Columbia this winter.  I didn’t see much of it, I was skiing in the Okanagan region, and then driving to Calgary.  So really, most of what I saw was mountains.  But wow the mountains.  It amazes me that there are places as breathtaking as that in the world.  In my own country, for that matter.  Much as I love the forests in Ontario, nothing here compares to the enormity of the Rocky Mountains.

The lure of spending time in the mountains was enough to make me ignore my lack of coordination and agree to spend a week downhill skiing with friends.

We had a pretty fantastic view of the mountain from our rental unit.

P1000293

the hill in the distance is where we were downhill skiing… and about halfway between there and here is where we were staying – at the foot of the hill

Despite what my family was convinced would happen, I didn’t do any serious harm to myself while shooting down the hill.

P1000294

especially the tubing hill.. didn’t have any problem getting down that one 😉

I improved drastically while we were there.  I went from that “gah, the last time I went downhill skiing was nearly 10 years ago… and on an Ontario hill” stage to “Hey, if I go at my own (slow) pace and concentrate hard, I don’t fall down too much, and also don’t feel too too terrified.”

IMG_20130306_153342

going downhill at high speeds… and not being able to see very far ahead. great!

Thankfully my focus on getting down the mountain alive wasn’t enough to keep me from paying attention to the scenery.

IMG_20130308_175426

We also got in a day of snowshoeing…

... in which we couldn't manage one single shot of us all jumping at the same time.  jumping in snowshoes is hard!

… in which we couldn’t manage one single shot of us all jumping at the same time. jumping in snowshoes is hard!

And crosscountry skiing.  I’m quite sure that crosscountry is my favourite winter sport!

P1000325

Driving back through the rockies to Calgary was great – we saw so many mountains and had a chance to stop and take pictures all along the route.

IMG_20130308_173521

Now I just need to figure out where in Canada I want to explore next!

IMG_20130308_130952

9 Comments

  1. Beautiful pictures. I vote Saskatchewan or Nova Scotia. Two places I have always wanted to visit. I suppose I should add Quebec as my dad was born there. 😉

    • I’ve never been to Saskatchewan – I hope to make a trip out there sometime.
      I highly recommend visiting Nova Scotia – I’ve only been to Halifax and Truro (both very fun cities to go to), but the entire East Coast is gorgeous – so much empty space, and the ocean is amazing. If you’re into camping at all, Kouchibouguac National Park (New Brunswick) is fantastic. it’s basically a steeply climbing bit of mountain, full of trails (including a mountain biking trail), and at sea-level right near the entrance to the park is a fishing village where you can pick up fresh cooked or live lobster from the day’s catch. Nothing quite like having a lobster dinner on a picnic table in the woods 🙂 Then again, anywhere on the East coast, you can have so much seafood, it’s wonderful!
      Quebec is also excellent. Montreal is probably my all-time favourite city out of anywhere I’ve been (not that I’ve been all that many places, but still). You should definitely take advantage of any family you still have in Quebec to go visit! In the major cities, most people speak english, and outside of them, people are at least willing to play a pantomime with you to figure out what you’re asking 😉
      I feel like I should do a series of posts about different parts of Canada, now! I’m immensely thankful that my parents spent most of my childhood travel on parts of Canada – I’d never even been across the border until the end of highschool.

      • The only relatives I have left, (and they are distant and who knows if they are still alive?) are in Halifax. They would be beyond third cousins. I’d love to see more posts on Canada.

  2. Your pictures are great! I’m impressed that you could jump at all in snowshoes- who cares if it wasn’t all at once?

  3. What a fanTASTIC holiday, Lexy! It sounds like it was the perfect rest, whilst not being all together restful…

    • I’ve found I’m not great at the fully restful holidays – much as I enjoy lounging around and reading a book, I can’t do it all day every day for a week – and would rather be active on my ‘down’ time

  4. Your photos are gorgeous! I’ve tried downhill skiing once and I hated it, but I love cross country and I’m pretty sure I’d like snowshoeing too. Let’s hope I get to try that before I get too much older!!

    • Snowshoeing is fun – it’s nice to be able to break your own trail through the trees. It’s a lot more work, I find, than crosscountry, though, because you have no glide.

