Creeping In


I’m doing my best to get back into writing – apparently the holidays were so exhausting that I have no imagination left.  Or I just lost all ability to plan my time out.  One week free of it, and I find myself overwelmed with how much time I spend walking the dog and entertaining him.  Not that I’m complaining – we’re getting some pretty walk-friendly weather lately, and less than a month after the solstice, I’m getting so much more daylight.

This week’s word for Trifecta’s writing challenge is:

INTENTION
(noun)

1: a determination to act in a certain way : resolve
2: import, significance
3a : what one intends to do or bring about
b : the object for which a prayer, mass, or pious act is offered

Check out the other submissions HERE, or submit your own.

It was never my intention to stay so long.  I took advantage, I’ll readily admit.  It isn’t my proudest moment.

They were an easy mark.  How could I resist an open door?

I just can’t bear to leave, quite yet.  Maybe a day or two more.  Not that I’m getting attached, or anything.  I could see myself getting used to it, though, y’know?  I’ll stick around and enjoy a bit more free food.  Not much of a hardship – company’s not too bad – they give me my space, and they’re real good listeners.

I need my freedom – I need to stretch my legs, feel the grass under my feet, breathe deep of the great outdoors.  I’ve got instincts, primal instincts, and they can’t be ignored.  I don’t want to get rusty.  I’ve gotta hit the road.

It is a pretty scary place out there, though.  My pal Fred got scooped up by the nastiest bugger you’ve ever seen.  Guy swooped down out of nowhere, and now Fred’s nowhere to be seen.  It’s kind of nice to be big man on campus, just for a few more days.

The Missus relies on me to taste-test her cooking.

Plus, they’ve got some wildlife in this place.  They buzz around bothering the people here.  Tough suckers, too – seems like no matter how many times I land a killing blow, they’re up and jingling about.  Can’t leave quite yet – Ieast I could do to repay them is to get rid of this infestation they’ve got.

The old guy and I haven’t gotten much chance in the past few hours to hang out, either.  I’ve got this wicked kink in my neck, and he needs help reading the newspaper.  Now that’s what I call an equitable exchange of services.

I’ll be leaving soon – best get in some warm-laundry napping while I’m still around to spread the fur.  Creeping into their lives was exhausting.

cat bum

Previous Post
Next Post

30 Comments

  1. Is that a song lyric you wrote?

    Good for you for spending so much time with the dog- mine doesn’t get nearly the attention she deserves. We’ve had her 6 months now and I’m STILL trying to get used to having a dog around the house. It’s a new experience for me.

    • Dog ownership is overwhelming sometimes. For the first few months I had Gwynn, I felt as exhausted as if I’d gotten a newborn baby. At times, all I could think was, “How can I possibly always do this?!” You get into the groove, though, and it’s wonderful, how many more people I talk to in a day, and how much more of my neighbourhood I see. Dogs give you a great appreciation for getting outdoors in your own area – it’s a damn shame how little I took advantage of the fantastic parks in my area before I got my dog.
      The closest I have ever gotten to being musical is the ability to tune the radio – much as I appreciate music, I am most definitely not talented enough to write it 🙂

  2. I like this a lot. I’m always imagining what my cat is thinking.

    • I always get the impression from cats that they haven’t quite decided yet if they’re going to stay with us – they never quite lose that wildness, even when cuddled up on your lap, and I love imagining it too 🙂

  3. Cobbie's World

     /  January 10, 2013

    Anyone who writes from a cat’s pov is alright with me. My own cat, Ringo, is sleeping, curled in a ball, on the couch next to me as I type this comment. Thanks for sharing your story. I enjoyed your good work.

    • thanks 🙂 I imagine cats seeing a much broader version of the world than they give away.

  4. So enjoyable. And the music perked up my spirits! 😀

  5. Draug419

     /  January 10, 2013

    My cats approve of your piece, and so do I (:

  6. Too funny! Only a cat would see their imposition as doing the people a favor (helping him read the paper).

    • having to read a paper that’s constantly being rustled or lain upon just makes the news that much more exciting 😉

  7. warm laundry . . . yes, well that IS the place to be, isn’t it? 🙂

    • cats have the right idea – there’s nothing quite like wrapping up in a sweater fresh out of the dryer.

  8. Meow!Made me wish I was a cat too-they have the right funda of life:-)loved this!:-)

    • now wouldn’t htat be wonderful? to be a cat 🙂 the world would make so much more sense.

      • Yes,it would be-imagine lazing around,doing as one pleases,caring two hoots about anyone or anything,be majestic & walk away from anything with your nose in the air-& the list goes on 🙂

  9. I love that closing shot!

  10. Love the post. Just want you to know that Wicket and Sadie totally agree.

    • Wicket and Sadie sound like they’ve got loads of character – and maybe aren’t quite as determined as this cat to hit the road without you 🙂

  11. Makes me miss my cats but the hubby’s a son of a vet and only sees the bad side of pets. Still I have the bosses dog to keep me company at work so it’s not too bad. 🙂

    • I miss having cats. My youngest sister is quite allergic (especially after not being exposed to cats for a few years), so once our cats passed on we didn’t find new ones, which is just a shame.

  12. Very nice. Poor Fred. 😦

    • poor fred, indeed – and not an unlikely ending for outdoor cats, either, especially young or small ones.

  13. Cats are very independent so this thought process does not surprise me. I actually think you’ve nailed it pretty well..

    It’s hard when you take some time off to get back into the swing of it!! I find that if I skip the walk with the dogs for ANY reason, I have a hard time getting back in that grove, it works the same way for me with blogging. 😦

    • Yeah, blogging or walking the dog – tough to stop and start again. Not to mention also trying ot get back into exercising after a 3ish week break around the holidays, and I’m pooped!

