Christmas Cookies


There’s nothing quite like this time of year.  It’s dark, dreary and cold.  If you’re lucky, you get snow, which, of course, leads to shoveling, scraping off frozen windshields, loss of traction, and traffic, because no-one was expecting actual snow to fall again this year.  Frolicking and snowmen and tobogganing and that wonderful silence caused by a thick blanket of cold also come, but sometimes it’s hard to remember them whilst hauling heavy loaded shovels of slush-snow to the enormous pile on your yard.

It’s definitely a time of year for hibernating.  The neighbours you had conversations with all summer long will be like ghosts, flitting between car and house with a scarf garbled shout of “Holidays!  Stress!  how about those hockey guys?! So dark out!” in your general direction.

You may have noticed a certain dearth of bears, and me, in the past few weeks. Hibernation.  With a dash of “go inspect culverts in the middle of nowhere” and “SO. MANY. FESTIVE EVENTS.”  It’s only the start of winter, after all – the start of winter is when everyone tries to fight the cold, fight the urge to just cocoon oneself in flannel and down and wait for spring.  And what better lure than food?

With that in mind, I figured I’d share with you some of my culinary adventures the past few weeks.  If you’re a longtime reader of my blog, you might remember me explaining some things about my Grandpa.  Including mention of the cow-shaped-cow-cutting-board he made for my parents, but with no picture.  What a travesty!  I’m remedying it now.

The pictures below are of cookies I tried out whose recipes I found in blogland.  Click the pic and it will take you to the recipe at the blog.

observe the solemnity of the cow.  Even big green pinweels decorating her flank cannot shake that bovine calm

observe the solemnity of the cow. Even big green pinweels decorating her flank cannot shake that bovine calm.  The cookies were a lot easier than I thought they’d be, and they were a huge hit at my friend’s “Come for a holiday dinner, surprise, it’s actually an engagement party!” Party.  Though of course the ring (and maybe the happy couple) did take center stage

These are going to become a yearly tradition for me - Czech Linz cookies.  I made them with homemade spiced pear jam filling, and some with tasty IKEA lingonberry jam.

These are going to become a yearly tradition for me – Czech Linz cookies. I made them with homemade spiced pear jam filling, and some with tasty IKEA lingonberry jam.

Alright.  I know it doesn't look good.  Doodle looked at this picture and commented that it looked like I'd taken cuts out of our Cowting board, to reveal the beef underneath.  They are, however, delicious cookies.  They're white chocolate and cherry shortbread, and they taste delicious.  They do, however, look like salami, even with white chocolate drizzled over them.  My suggestion is that they might be improved by NOT adding the food colouring.  White chocolate chunks just don't dye red, and that didn't improve things at all.  Taste, though, was divine!

Alright. I know it doesn’t look good. Doodle looked at this picture and commented that it looked like I’d taken cuts out of our Cowting board, to reveal the beef underneath. They are, however, delicious cookies. They’re white chocolate and cherry shortbread, and they taste delicious. They do, however, look like salami, even with white chocolate drizzled over them. My suggestion is that they might be improved by NOT adding the food colouring. White chocolate chunks just don’t dye red, and that didn’t improve things at all. Taste, though, was divine!

These are my favourite cookies of all time.  They make me think of Santa, and snow falling, and lights flickering on a christmas tree and all things good.  The family recipe Ginger Snap, chewy and delicious on the inside, with a snap around the edges.  And I'm letting you all see the recipe.  Tis the season of giving, after all.

These are my favourite cookies of all time. They make me think of Santa, and snow falling, and lights flickering on a christmas tree and all things good. The family recipe Ginger Snap, chewy and delicious on the inside, with a snap around the edges. And I’m letting you all see the recipe. Tis the season of giving, after all.

          Our Family Ginger Snaps

Ingredients:

– 3/4 cup Shortening

– 1 cup Sugar

– 1/4 cup Molasses

– 1 egg

– 1/2 tsp Salt

– 2 cups Flour

– 2 tsp Baking Soda

– 1 tsp Cinnamon

– 1 tsp Cloves

– 1 tsp Ginger

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 Fahrenheit.

Cream the shortening with a mixer.  Add sugar gradually, then add molasses.  Cream well.

Add egg.

Sift flour, salt and spices together, then add to the mixture.

roll into walnut sized balls.  Roll the balls in sugar

lay out on the baking sheet and press down with the bottom of a glass.

Bake approximately 10 minutes, or top is barely showing golden colour.

10 Comments

  1. I love the cutting board! What a treasure to have….especially for all of your beautiful cookies. You’ve been busy! They look delicious, but if I had to be honest, those ginger snaps have my name written all over them. They will be made, asap! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Hibernation? Yeah, um. I’m doing pretty well at that right now….and I think I’m okay with that 🙂

    Happy holidays!!

    • I love the cutting board too… my mom was less than impressed at how tiny the massive piece of wood she’d given my grandpa to work with had become, but now it’s impossible to look at it without smiling.
      The gingersnaps are my favourite cookie of all time, for any season. I hope they help get you through your hibernation to spring 🙂

  2. That cutting board is awesome. Love this post. One thing we all can agree on during the holidays: the world can always use more cookied 🙂 Happy Holidays, lady!

    • Definitely more cookies. And the season gives us a reason to make them other than “I think I”d like to eat 20 cookies”…

  3. All the cookies look yummy. I am still trying to find time to make some cookies. 😛

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  4. Phil loves ginger snaps! Thanks for some lovely recipes, Lexy!

  5. I miss cookies. Since I had to go Gluten Free, I’ve not had any Christmas cookies. They all look so delicious!! And I love the cutting board. 🙂

    • Awww, that would be the worst part of gluten-free. Have you tried any of the cookies made from gluten-free flours, like chickpea and rice flour? i’m not saying it’s the same… but it at least gives you cookies. Cookies with chickpea flour can actually taste kind of peanutbuttery too, which is tasty. Sometimes cookies are just necessary.

