A Light in the Darkness


Write On Edge: Red-Writing-HoodWrite on Edge’s Red Writing Hood prompt this week was a combination of a picture and a song.

Candles and Iowa

Follow the link to see the picture, hear the song, read the submissions, or submit your own.

Having never been to Iowa, the song made me think of the prairies – rolling low hills and vast expanses of emptiness, and farms, of course, because isolated homesteads are the kind with candles flickering in the window, a light you can see for miles.

Feb2011 114

**

She looked in at the flickering candle-light with a kind of longing.

Daddy figured she was probably attracted by the food-smells.  He took to carrying the old shotgun when he went out to the barn in the early morning hours.

Momma stood vigil at the kitchen window, watching her through the chintz curtains.  She had this look in her eye, predatory and ferocious.  Daddy treated Momma like she had to be protected, but I knew better.  Grizzly bears don’t need protecting.

She never came past the fence-line, like she knew she wasn’t welcome.  To me, she seemed worn down by the weight of the world, weary and too-thin.  In a distant way, I knew that a drought-filled dust-bowl summer and an early, bitterly cold winter were to blame.  With her sad golden eyes tugging on my heart-strings, I tied it all back to the things Momma and Daddy talked about late at night, whispered conversations about money, bad crops and our best milker running dry.  Me and Momma had done the canning in half the time this fall – and that wasn’t a good thing.  Times were hard, for us and for her.

An old stew-bone here, a carefully hoarded egg there, I did what I could.  She didn’t exactly fill out, but I could see a new spark in her eye.

Will to live, Daddy called it.

Orneriness, Momma said.  I didn’t tell her that that’s exactly what Daddy said Momma had sometimes.

I just smiled and made sure she got that last biscuit, and a bit of cold stew.  Something to keep the spark alive.

Desperate and starving, men came from the woods when Daddy was two days gone on a trip to town.  We didn’t have much, but it was more than they had.

Momma’s eyes glinted grizzly-bear fierce as she loaded the shotgun, smooth and confident as Anny Oakley.  I hid in the cupboard.  You didn’t back-talk Momma when she had that look in her eye.

She said desperation makes a devil of a foolish man, but her Daddy taught her to shoot.  Men never expect women to put up a fight, and that’s their mistake.

I guess they didn’t expect the wolf, neither.  Between the crack of buckshot and the hair-raising growls and evilly glowing eyes in the darkness, we ran them off.

Daddy came home, wagon rattling with the few things he’d been able to barter for, hopefully enough to get us through the winter.  He was pretty rattled to hear about the incident, snarling about yellow bellied curs, eyes glinting with rage.

I made a nest of blankets for her on the deck, but she wouldn’t stray close.

Daddy said she was a wild animal, and while she liked us, she liked her freedom more.

It was a hungry winter, but she never lost that spark, we made sure of it.  She left with the spring, off over the low hills.

Momma just rolled her eyes when she saw that she took a chicken.

Previous Post

17 Comments

  1. What a great little story! I’m kind of bummed that the wolf ran off, but of course it’s the perfect ending.

    • I really really didn’t want the wolf to run off… but its staying would have disneyfied the story too much, I think. The third option was her dying, but I couldn’t do it.

  2. “Grizzly bears don’t need protecting.” Love this line. And I really enjoy the premise of this story – the concept of survival bringing out one’s inner strength even when physical nourishment is sparse. Well done.

    • Thanks 🙂 My mother is from the south, and always describes her mother (I never met her) as this tiny harmless looking woman who would go all Mother Grizzly Bear on anyone who tried to pull anything with her.

  3. Wonderful story – it felt like I was with you on the prairie, befriending the lone wolf.

  4. Lance

     /  December 7, 2012

    I like how sparse your were with your words. It built to this measured crescendo. This is very well written.

    • thanks. They gave such a high wordcount compared to trifecta, I felt like I could really spread the story out

  5. Oh, I like this very much. You made me wait a little longer than I wanted before I found out what exactly the animal was–all the grizzly bear ref’s made me think that was the answer, but I didn’t think grizzlies lived in Iowa. That’s my only suggestion, is to clarify a bit earlier. Otherwise I thought it was great. Loved it.

    • thanks 🙂 I actually considered leaving what ‘she’ was out entirely, so you’re lucky you got her at all 😛 I’m not too sure of wolves in Iowa, either… I’m sure at some point in history there were, at any rate, even if maybe there aren’t any now.

  6. I love the language you use–personable, intimate. It’s a bit like you’re telling tales around a campfire!

  7. So many powerful images here – I felt their lack in the rattle of the wagon, the description of canning take half the time and the leanness in the characters. You painted a masterful picture of a hard and resilient family.

  8. Beautiful. Man can always find a little to feed his best friend, Lexy 🙂

  9. Another great story Lexy, but then I’m not surprised in the least. At first I wasn’t sure what she was (I thought bear too Kathleen) what I loved best was that she shared her food with a wild animal, even though food was sparse. Compassion in an otherwise compassionless world and yet the wolf repaid her debt, when bad folks game around.

    Well done Lexy.

    • thanks 🙂 Yeah, I guess I should have said wolf sometime earlier. I can’t imagine anyone purposely feeding a grizzly that’s hanging around their property, though – wolves are much closer to dogs (housepets) than grizzly bears are!

  1. My first trauma « mylifeaddicted
