Gone for a Wander


You may have noticed that there were no short stories up this week.  You’ll notice that again next week, too.  As of yesterday at roughly midnight, I’m in fabulous Moncton, New Brunswick on vacation.

Before you warn me about mentioning vacations before I get back from them… know that I’m travelling solo, and the house is still quite occupied.

Writing this ahead of time means I can only make assumptions.

I’m pretty sure the flight will be horrible – any travel that involves me interacting with security people and plane staff at midnight can’t be good.  Let’s just hope that I emerge with all my luggage, and what shreds of my sanity I can hold onto at well-past-my-bedtime-o’clock.

I’m positive that I’ll be spending a fun-filled week catching up with my aunt and uncle, all my cousins, and my cousin’s 8-year-old son, who I haven’t seen since he was 4.  I’m hoping this time he’ll be out of the shy-cling-to-parent stage, and we can say hello to each other.

I suspect that it will be colder than here.  By a lot.

I really hope for there to be seafood.  Lots and lots of seafood.  My uncle married a wonderful woman, all around, so it’s really just a bonus that she’s Acadian, and thus a goddess of seafood.  Last time we went camping out there, she taught me how to dismember a cooked lobster after showing me what she looked for in them at a fish market right at the dock.  Since then, I’ve ordered lobster at a restaurant once… and i was thoroughly disappointed that they had cut it in half down the middle, eliminating the entire dismembering process.

Happy Friday, everyone, see you in September!

Previous Post

18 Comments

  1. Enjoy your vacation! Any type of post is thoroughly enjoyed 🙂

  2. Lance

     /  August 24, 2012

    Have a safe and fun trip. Your words are missed.

  3. Awww, it’s too bad I won’t be able to get out to Moncton! Welcome to the Maritimes, at any rate. I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

    • Yeah, you’re in Halifax area right ? My visit is mostly family and Moncton area… I’ll have to try and visit closer to you next trip :). And if you’re ever in toronto, give me a shout !

  4. Hope you have a fantastic holiday and survive the security at the airports. Look forward to updates on your return.

    • the airports were surprisingly easily handled… no grumpy employees or grumpy passengers to deal with, and only a brief stare-down with the woman who had claimed my window seat for herself 😛

  5. Have a wonderful week 🙂

  6. Well deserved, enjoy!

  7. Have a wonderful trip!!

  8. Hope you are having a wonderful time!

  9. Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

