Pulling Flowers out of Glass


**NOTE: Much as I appreciate the regular correspondence with people looking for skilled glass-blowers in the GTA… Ontario… Canada… I am NOT one of them.  I’m not sure why my blog has turned up so high on the google list.  If you are looking for someone, I recommend: 

Minna Koistinen from Playing With Fire. You can find her here:
http://www.playingwithfire.ca/ , and if the thing you’re looking for is relatively simple, she might even teach you how to make it yourself, which is a very cool experience.  ***

I had the chance to go to another glassblowing workshop (like the one you can read about HERE), and it was equally kickass, made only more awesome by the fact that the entire group of people in the class were people I know, there whether they thought that they wanted to be or not.  I’m controlling like that sometimes.  And I’m telling you, youwantto go try glassblowing, given the opportunity.

If you’re in the GTA and interested, check out Playing With Fire – Minna puts on a variety of workshops, and the two I’ve gone to have left me feeling both more artistically talented than I am, and thoroughly impressed with actual glass-working artists.  And terrified, but the rush of adrenaline at finding myself with moltent glass on a stick in my hands is evenly balanced with the safety in which the classes are conducted.  If you’re not in the GTA… well… that’s what Google is for!

The last ones are mine!  A little bit lumpy, not terribly flower shaped, buuuut… beautiful to me.  Some of the most distinclty flower shaped ones are done by my friends whose first try at glassblowing was flower-making.

 

Previous Post

10 Comments

  1. Beautiful colors.

    • It’s amazing how they turn out, so different from the little piles of coloured glass you start off with

  2. That’s very cool and I think quite pretty. How will they be used? As paper weights, window hangings or some other creative way?

    I’m not sure if we have any glassblowers around here…..I’ll have to check. 🙂

    BTW, it’s good to see you back posting again!!

    • I think I’m going to try to hang them. I’d be worried about just leaving them around, in terms of breakage.
      good to be back!

  3. Those are really neat. I like how the colors blend together, but don’t. You did a nice job. 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂 I love that they all turned out great and artistic looking, even though we’re bare beginners at glassblowing

  4. Wow those are beautiful!!

    I’ve always thought that would be fun to do 🙂

    • I highly recommend it if you ever get the opportunity. It’s a really fun activity, and it’s amazing how proud you feel, holding your own glass creation!

  5. I’ve observed this process on a few occasions. It looks extremely intense and difficult. You’ve done beautifully.

    • thank you. I suspect that actual glass-blowing is much more tough than what I’ve done, but any version of glasswork is a lot of fun, mixed with a bit of terror.

