Yabba Dabba Dooooo!


Construction sites always remind me of the Flintstones.

Hulking beasts, rumbling along across a rubble-strewn landscape of lane closures and traffic cones.  While most vehicles are designed to be sleek and aerodynamic, with chrome and high-lustre paints, construction equipment is bare bones.  No glossy fur and lean lines, it’s monolithic, awkwardly shaped, and purposeful.  Dinosaurs in a world full of panthers.

One of the first sites I went on used this milling machine.  You can see why I picture Fred Flintstone on it, can’t you?  Though I would not have guessed at the brontosaurus pooping in quite that manner.

Bobcats might have feline names, but in my mind they are triceratops and brachiosaurs rumbling about carrying things from place to place.

photo taken by the very talented Doodle.  also ridiculously perfect for my dinosaur-machine comparison purposes

Giant dung beetles deliver loads of concrete.

Despite its lack of tiny arms, the backhoe is clearly the king of the dinosaurs, the T-Rex.

Construction workers as the Neanderthals in an inaccurate portrayal of the earth’s history?  Maybe.  They’re loud, gruff, and work as efficiently as possible (a trait I have no doubt actual hunter-gatherer societies share) to get the job done.  No construction work is ever not in a rush.  Despite how you might feel, sitting in a traffic jam caused by construction work, it’s not dragging on forever, it’s being pushed and pressured with deadlines.  Not quite life and death for the individual dinosaur-riding construction worker, but certainly for the construction company as a whole.

However, their volume is in competition with the sheer volume of construction.  If you come up with a way to chip concrete in silence, please – PLEASE – for the love of all that is holy, let me know. Same applies to any brilliant ideas in which construction produces no dust.  Think more Barney Rubble the friendly neighbour neanderthall, less “WILMAAAAA!!”

Where have I been the past few weeks?  Let’s just leave it at Yabba Dabba Doooo! and try not to throw a fit in the car next time you creep slowly past road-work.  We can see you in there.

Previous Post

8 Comments

  1. Ah well I am curious and have missed your stories. So will we not have any again until the snow flies? 🙂

    • thankfully the construction site isn’t as extensive as all that… it’s over, for now, and if I go back to site, I hope to balance my tiredness a bit better and get some posts out regardless.

  2. It’s so funny you should say this – from the time I was little, I always thought the same thing – construction vehicles remind me of dinosaurs. And having lived on a hilly major roadway as a child, the sound of exceptionally loud trucks screaming their way up the hill always sounded like dinosaurs to me too – no wonder I used to have dinosaur nightmares when I was really young! 🙂

    • I’m realy happy I didn’t live where you did… I don’t think I’d have reacted well to the sound of screaming dinosaurs running around outside the house!

  3. Oh, this post hits close to home, literally. We are in the middle of a subdivision under construction. My toddler thinks the plethora of tractors and heavy-duty machinery is about the coolest thing he’s ever seen. I just shake my head and reach for the Advil.

    • Has he discovered trains yet? My little cousins are obsessed with the things – any opportunity to stand close to a train crossing (right where it’s so loud you can’t hear yourself think), and they’ll stand there for hours, waiting for a train

  4. What a GREAT analogy. Nicely done. 🙂 Guess you’ve been sitting in some traffic as of late!!

    • Nope 🙂 I’m on the other side, watching the people sitting in traffic.

