Paulette is such a Creep


Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writers Workshop this week had a variety of post topics, including this:

5) Share a Story about a Sibling.

Stories? I’ve got plenty!  Head over HERE to submit your post  or read others(she has 4 other options for this week’s submission as well, in case you don’t want to share a story about a sibling!)

***

Any time I pick up a can of anything with ‘chicken’ in the label, it reminds me of my sister.  Telling this story aloud makes me snort in an unladylike manner, giggling at my own story before the punch line in a way that would possibly indicate it’s funnier to me than to anyone else.  That’s fine, I’ll continue to tell it anyways.

Peanut used to have a deep and abiding love of all things chicken soup.  Cream-of, chunky-vegetable-and, and of course, plain old chicken soup.

I’m not sure if you all are aware of it, but I speak French.  I, unlike my siblings, went through French immersion right up to grade 8.  You’d think I’d have figured it out sooner.

Peanut would ask for chicken soup on a regular basis.  She would, strangely, develop a bit of a Paula-Deen-esque drawl, and ask for some “Chicken Paulette” for dinner.  Imagine the PAulette, pronounced with the same confidence of people understanding it as someone asking for chicken cordon bleu.

This left everyone in the family staring blankly, trying to figure out just what it was that she was asking.  We figured out pretty easily that she wanted soup, but where she’d decided to rename plain old chicken noodle soup as ‘Chicken Paulette’ was mysterious.

Do you see what I see? If not, try pronouncing "poulet" like someone who has never heard the word in french before.

I’m not sure if you all are aware of it, but I speak French.  I, unlike my siblings, went through French immersion right up to grade 8.  You’d think I’d have figured it out sooner.

Another of her more baffling food choices pertains to my mother’s recipe for paper-thin pancakes with a cream-cheese spread that is to die for.

“We’re having creeps!”, she would exclaim, pronounced in the same way as you might say, “That guy is such a creep”

You're sure you don't want to stay for breakfast? we're having creeps!

Crepes.  Pronounced, unless you’re actually speaking French, kind of like ‘kraype’, or, in the same way as one would pronounce the Crepe in Crepe Paper.

Fast forward quite a few years, she knows that it’s chicken soup, minus the redundant Paulette.  She still enjoys a good creep, though.

Previous Post
Next Post

10 Comments

  1. Totally not soup related but one day while we were in the car, my youngest sister asked my mother what a Ped A Strain was. That’s how she pronounced the word, pedestrian that she saw on a sign. 🙂

    • lol, I love trying to figure out what it is that a kid is reading incorrectly! It would have been even harder to figure it out when you likely drove past the sign already when she asked about it.

  2. Hahaha! Love this post. I said “height dog” and “crime cheese” until I was way too old to know better 🙂

    • is it hot dog? took me a minute to figure that one out! crime cheese reminds me of ‘crimeney’, which might not be spelled right, but is what a variety of cartoon characters would exclaim

  3. Hahaha. To blame is those bi-lingual labels you all have over there. I bet many a child has unknowingly referred to a product by the English and French word.

    Now creeps OTOH…..

  4. 😄 I remember this vaguely 😛
    Actually, I thought from the title that you were going to talk about me coming home and complaining about a girl named Paulette, much like I did with Sergei 😛
    Awesome though 😛

    • did you ever complain about a Paulette? i remember the issues you had with sergei, but… no paulette. Plus, I try to alternate between embarassing one sibling and the other… otherwise one of you might get jealous 😀

