Research


Write On Edge: Red-Writing-Hood  Friday is Red Writing Hood, and this week, they brought back an old prompt.

The instructions are as follows (and long, so if you don’t care about how I got the plot, just scroll). Word limit is 500.

Pick four numbers, each between 1 and 10.

Write them down so you remember.

The first number will be for your character, the second your setting, the third the time and the fourth will be the situation.

Then take the four elements and combine them into a short story.

All four you picked MUST be your main elements, but you can add in other characters, settings, times and situations.

  • Character

1. A new mother

2. An actress

3. A recent high school graduate

4. A waitress

5. An alien

6. A homeless man

7. An elderly woman

8. A freshman in high school

9. A college student

10. A musician

  • Setting

1. The woods

2. A wedding reception

3. A party

4. A restaurant

5. A mall

6. A park

7. A beach

8. A lake

9. A baseball game

10. A seminar

  • Time

1. Winter

2. During a thunderstorm

3. The morning after prom

4. Spring

5. December

6. Midnight or around midnight

7. Summer

8. In the middle of a fire

9. In the middle of a snowstorm

10. The afternoon

  • Situation

1. A death

2. Secret needs to be told

3. Someone has or will hurt someone

4. A crime has occured or is about to

5. Someone has lost/found something

6. Someone is falling in love

7. Reminiscing on how things change

8. There has been a family emergency

9. Something embarrassing happened

10. Someone has just gone to the doctor.

My numbers: 5832

Alien; A Lake; The morning after Prom; A secret needs to be told

I only just re-read that, and realised that I used the ocean instead.  A body of water is a body of water…Just go with it.

Check out the rest of the posts HERE, or link up yourself!

***

The pre-dawn air was chilly, so I draped the jacket of my tux over her shoulders.  She lay with her head on my chest, bare legs prickled with goose bumps.  Females here dressed so inadequately for the temperature.  It was strangely alluring, like so much about her.

Like the way she always smelled of baked goods.  She couldn’t cook, and yet, even now, skin salty from the ocean spray, her hair still smelled like cinnamon and vanilla.

“Hey,” I whispered, shaking her shoulder, “The sun is rising.”

She groaned as she awoke, pushing herself upright on the dune and smiling down at me, her cinnamon hair hanging down in front of her eyes.  She shivered and pulled my jacket tighter around her shoulders before rejoining me.

We watched as the first glimmer of light tinged the clouds along the horizon, as the first sliver of beaming golden light rose up out of the water, scattering sparks out across the choppy waves.  I wondered if the sun rise had always been so beautiful, or if it was seeing it through human eyes, and that made it so.

She smiled at me and said, “I had the best time last night.  I mean, prom was like, wow, but being out here with you was so…” she held her arms out wide, “huge.  It was amazing.  Is amazing.”

“I’ve been meaning to tell you something,” I stumbled over my words in my rush to get it off my chest.  “I’m not who you think I am.”

I could see her unease growing as she sat upright, but couldn’t think of how else to say it.

“I’m not human.”

The story poured out of me, every detail.  How I was chosen to adopt a temporary earth-form, in order to study the people from here, where I was from, and how I really, truly did care for her.  She was shocked and a little bit frightened, but she told me she still loved me.

I told her about how I was meant to find a suitable mate and reproduce.  She froze.  I clutched her hands in mine.

“I figure that after all we did last night, I’m definitely pregnant.  My mission is complete and I have to leave.  I wish you could come with me, but I’ll take good care of our baby.  They’ll be transporting me shortly.”

I swallowed the lump in my throat as I said this, the human emotion overwhelming.  Maybe it was the pregnancy hormones kicking in already.

“You’re a boy.”

I nodded.  Humans sometimes said very non sequitor things.

She rolled her eyes and spoke slowly.  “Women get pregnant.  Men get women pregnant, but women carry the baby.  You’re a space-travelling race who can impersonate other species, and you didn’t bother to check in on which half of us got pregnant?!”

As understanding dawned, I felt a tingle in my skin.  The horror of it all struck me right about the same time as my feet struck the deck of the ship.

Previous Post

20 Comments

  1. hahaha, this is pretty funny XD
    I approve 😛 I was wondering how you would do it, but now I’m not sure if you went entirely with male pregnancy (mpreg) or “oh my god I got a human girl preggers”
    Still made me smile 😀

    • More with ‘oh no, I really screwed up my mission – what do you mean, the guy doesn’t get pregnant?!’ and ‘failure to research a new species’ 😛

  2. Hahaha! Pregnant Alien Boy could make a killer novel!

  3. HAHAHAHA!

    That was wonderful! What a unique and wonderful twist. A complete short story in 500 words – well done!

    • thanks. The number prompt definitely helped with that – how to figure out how an alien got to the lake after prom, and why.

  4. AWESOME!!! Yay. What a great twist. That really saved it from being just a facile alien story. Good stuff!!

    • thanks! poor alien got to channel a bit of Third Rock from the Sun, but hopefully he isn’t too disappointed about not being pregnant 😛

  5. Holy cow, that was a surprise! Way to get creative. 🙂

  6. Love the twist! Oooh, I can just see him facing his superiors 🙂

    poor little alien…poor girl he’s ditching. How do you top sex with an alien?

    • thanks 🙂 I can just see his superiors facing their research department! “You never said we should have sent him as a female! What kind of Humanities department are you running here?!”

  7. Fun, fun, fun. I love this premise. It has such legs.

    And I love how sensual the details are…how the alien is really tying out these human characteristics.

    If anything, I would love to hear the actual conversation (I know word limits were a concern).

    • I agree… i had a bunch of dialogue written out, then realised that it would take up too much space. Unfortunately, it took a bit of the ‘spunk’ away from the girl, since she didn’t really have much chance to get her personality into things.

  8. Heehee! I love it. Great twist at the end. And I’m in love with “cinnamon hair”.
    You descriptives are great and emotional dealing by the alien is well done.

    • thanks! I’m glad the alien came across as emotional… I was worried he would sound a bit too much like Marvin the martian and ruin the scene.

  9. Enjoyed this one.

  10. You are very creative. I enjoyed this story.

    • thanks. I’m hoping you’ll participate in some more of the prompts – the one you did before the holidays was so sweet

