Sinker


Write On Edge: Red-Writing-Hood
Friday again, and another Red Writing Hood prompt.

“The cure for anything is salt water….sweat, tears or the sea.”
~ Isak Dinesen, pseudonym of Baroness Karen von Blixen-Finecke

For your Creative Non-Fiction tell us about the last time that one of these three things “cured” you. If you are going with Fiction, have your character resolve a problem using one of the three (or all three!!!). There are so many ways you can use this prompt so be creative with it, don’t take us where we think you’ll go.

Word Limit is 300.

Check out the other participants’ pieces here, or link-up yourself!

***

“Confess!”

“I’m not a witch!”

“Prove it.”

“How?”

“Witches float.”

“So do oranges.”

“If you sink, you aren’t a witch.”

“Or an orange.  Once I sink, will you rescue me?”

“No.”

“So the test either proves that I’m not a witch while drowning me, or proves that, like everyone else in town, I can swim – in which case, I get burnt at the stake?”

“If you aren’t a witch, you’ll go to heaven.”

“How nice.  Do I get a last request?”

“Certainly – after all, we aren’t heathens, madam.”

“…”

“Perhaps you’d like to speak with the priest?  Or have a nice last meal?”

“I’d rather pick the site of the test.”

“Well that seems acceptable.”

“By the bluffs, when the tide is high.”

“That would be rather difficult to get to.”

“Take a boat.”

The sea was awash with dinghies, as the entire village wanted to bear witness to the testing of the witch.  It was only recently that they had learned of witches, and she was the first woman to be accused of it in their town.  Witchcraft certainly explained a woman living on her own, who could read and write as well as any man.  Not to mention that she had failed the mayor’s son in maths class.

The witch dove head-first into the briny waves, barely making a splash.

The judge checked the time on his watch, nodded brusquely, and declared that she wasn’t a witch.

As the priest prayed for her soul’s ascent to heaven, the woman struggled down a flooded tunnel, lungs burning, and dragged herself out onto the cave floor.  She lay there, gasping for air.

Salt stung her eyes and she snapped her fingers, making a ball of light hover above her salty palm.

“Well, at least we proved I’m not an orange.”

38 Comments

  1. Ha! Very clever. I’d like to read more about her. Great dialogue.

  2. So wonderful. I want more!

    • thanks, glad you enjoyed it. I’ll admit, I can imagine a bit of what she does after she dries off and finds her way out of the cave 🙂

  3. Clever and interesting. Could be a scene in a book about the Salem Witch Trials. The last line had me laughing.

    • Thanks! I doubt any of them were able to see the ridiculousness of the whole ‘witches float’ mentality from where they were standing – then again, they didn’t have any actual magic on their side, either.

  4. Fabulous twist!

  5. Fantastic! Definitely leaves me wanting more.

    • thanks! I’ll have to see if i have any ideas for where she goes after that – I’m assuming she has a plan to get out of the submerged cave without getting caught again and burnt at the stake.

  6. I’m not an orange either 😀 Does that mean…
    *tries very hard to get a glowing sphere to happen*

    *nothing happens*
    Dammit! Guess I might be part orange 😛

    • well… you are kind of citrusy… Also, the dog loves oranges, and also loves you… hmmm… seems like a valid argument 😉

  7. I loved this, loved your take on the prompt! I really like the last line 🙂

  8. ::Giggle::

    I love a clever woman. And magic.

  9. Lol loved it! Of course a witch would be clever enough to fool the test

    • I’ve always wondered about the witch-hunters… I, for one, would not want to piss off someone who has actual magical powers by trying to kill them 😀

  10. HAHAAHAHAHAH!! Wonderful! Such a great end, and what a nice sense of wit throughout. I very much like your character.

  11. Bwa-hahahahahaha! ::snort:: Very clever. The prompt clearly needed an orange dodging witch to bring some badinage into the litany of teary drama induced by the prompt.
    (Guilty)
    ::Praying in a very un-sacreligious manner::
    “Thank you lord for the clever witch. Please humble the sanctimonious townsfolk by drowning them in orange juice. Amen.”

    I like you.
    Like, in a totally blogger to blogger, non cyber-stalking way.
    I think I’ll be back around .. yep, most definitely.

    • aww? no cyber-stalking? no fair! Maybe I’ll convince you to do so with future posts 😉
      This prompt definitely brought a lot of bad memories to the surface for a lot of people, and their characters. the first thing I thought about when I read the prompt was a sinking ship, but I couldn’t think of anything to go with, so I stuck with the ocean instead.

  12. Awesome story!! She is so tenacious and fiesty! I love her. 🙂

    • glad you enjoyed it, thanks! I found your comment in my spam for some reason, but since you didn’t bring up anything completely random and unconnected like french fries, politics, or how ‘helpful this article has been’, I figure you’re good 🙂

  13. Oh love it!!! Wonderful ‘at least we prove I am not an orange!’ Love that unexpected twist of humour.

    • at least ‘oranges float’ is a legitimate, and prove-able fact, lol… as opposed to the ridiculousness of ‘witches float’. thanks!

  14. This was great! I loved the sharp dialogue–polite, but not really. It pulled everything together. The ending was perfect, too!

    • thanks, I wanted to work on the whole dialogue thing, since I don’t use it often enough.

  15. Loved her spunk and loved the twist at the end!

  16. Lovely! Clever, clever witch 🙂

  17. Good one!

  18. I was surprised! Great job~

    • thanks – I figured I ought to quit killing off all the characters (or turning them into psychopaths), or blogland would get suspicious of me 😉

  19. Scriptor Obscura

     /  February 1, 2012

    Excellent story! 😀

  1. A Short Trip « Gone for a Walk
