Angel


Write On Edge: Red-Writing-Hood

Red Writing Hood is back!  Well, it was back last week, but I couldn’t think of a damn thing to write about epitaths.

The prompt:

Four hundred words or less, fiction or creative non-fiction, linked up on Friday morning’s post, based on one of the following definitions:

flavor |ˈflāvər| ( Brit. flavour)
noun
1 the distinctive quality of a particular food or drink as perceived by the taste buds and the sense of smell : the chips come in pizza and barbecue flavors.
• the general quality of taste in a food : no other cracker adds so much flavor to cheese or peanut butter.
• a substance used to alter or enhance the taste of food or drink; a flavoring : we use vanilla and almond flavors.
• [in sing.] figurative an indefinable distinctive quality of something : this year’s seminars have a European flavor.
• [in sing.] figurative an indication of the essential character of something : the extracts give a flavor of the content and tone of the conversation.

Go HERE to check out more posts that answered this prompt, or to submit your own!

***

“Mmmmm, this is delicious!  You’ve really outdone yourself this time.”

Annie smiled slightly, one hand running along the smooth contours of the pearl necklace her husband had bought her the week before.

“What’d you call it?” he asked around a mouthful of food.

“…Mushroom risotto.” Annie had always hated the way he shoveled food down his gullet. She paused, toying with the untouched food on her own plate.

I love you so much, you know that, right?  I’m so sorry, I won’t do it again, I swear she meant nothing to me.  You’re my angel, I love you, he’d said, offering up the Mikimoto box.   She had matching earrings, a diamond studded tennis bracelet, and an assortment of glittering necklaces to attest to this so-called love already.  Every one of them a promise that guaranteed one thing, and one thing only – he would never ‘do it’ again, until the next time.

“Mm, it’s just so flavorful.  There’s this hint of… I don’t know what, but it’s there, and it’s really just… Mmmmh.”  He loosened his tie, face flushed.

“I think the fresh mushrooms really add a certain something to it.”

“Fresh?”

“Mmm” she agreed.  “I went on a great mushroom hike a while back, learned all about all sorts of them.  Went out a few days ago and found some Angel Mushrooms.  Felt inspired.”  She stared into her wine glass, admiring the ruby reflection of light that landed on the table cloth.

“Well that explains how angelic this stuff tastes,” He tried to give her a devilish grin, but it twisted slightly at the twisting rumble in his gut.  He cleared his throat again, voice raspy, and took a gulp of wine.   “That’s impressive – I heard it’s hard to make sure you aren’t picking the poisonous ones with the edible ones.”

Annie smiled sweetly at that, looking up and meeting her husband’s eyes.

“Edible?”

“Y’know, the ones that won’t kill you,” he tugged at his collar some more, face glistening with sweat.  “You made sure to not… “ he cleared his throat again.  “Is it… does it feel warm in here to you?”  He coughed and swallowed thickly, clearly struggling.

“Oh,” she said, smiling more broadly.  “It’s much easier, actually, to just identify one or two poisonous ones, and go with that.  Plus, I thought it was kind of apt to go with the Destroying Angel.”

Her husband’s eyes bulged out, thick fingers tugging and fumbling at the collar of his shirt.

Annie waited patiently.  When he was finally still, face down in the risotto, she carefully pushed back her chair and stood up.  Looming above him, eyes hooded and dark, she fingered the smooth contours of the pearls around her neck.

“I’m so sorry, hon,” she said, deadpan.  “I promise I’ll never do it again.  I love you, you know that, right?”

click on the picture to find out more about these pretty and very NOT EDIBLE mushrooms. Also, so you know, I took some creative license with the symptoms - they aren't quite that fast-acting, and, if you do accidentally eat one, please Get Thee to a Hospital, post haste, even if the pain goes away. But seriously, don't eat them. For that matter, don't pick wild mushrooms for eating unless you area professional or with one.

Previous Post

24 Comments

  1. Oh I DID love the foreshadowing! My Mom and I went through a phase, when I was about fifteen, of identifying all of the mushrooms we came across when we hiked. We opted for common sense and did not eat anything we found.

    • The number of photographs we have (pre digital camera, of course) of mushrooms (I was resident photographer) from our trips to Algonquin… well, they outnumber the pictures of people from the same trips!
      I love the idea of foraging for food – wild garlic, certain flowers, etc. But wild mushrooms are intimidating. Half the time, an edible mushroom has a nearly-identical evil twin found in the same types of places. Instead, I take pictures of them 🙂

  2. Woman scorned? Don’t eat dinner! This is really brilliant!

  3. hehe! Love it! There is nothing like the flavor of revenge!

    Great last line! Concrit: you don’t even need the word “deadpan” – it comes across equally as cool, deadpan and murderously cold without it!

    • wow, I’m a bit tired – took me a moment to figure out what ‘concrit’ was. Looking back at it, you’re right – her tone of voice is probably pretty apparent, with all the conversation and action leading up to it. I do love that word, though, so it was a nice excuse to use it.

  4. Great story! This would make a wonderful Twilight Zone episode.

    • I think it would probably need to be stretched out a bit to make that work – or a whole series of food-death scenes, maybe.

  5. Hehe, there’s a whole thing going on with deadly mushrooms today! This is good though, well written. 🙂

    • I haven’t had a chance yet to read all the other stories (that’ll be my relaxing after walking the dog tonight 😛 ), but now i’m excited to hear about all the other deadly mushrooms!

  6. Interesting story.

  7. Mwah ha ha haaa…love it. Revenge can be served piping hot 😉

    • of course! by the time it’s cold, it’s all glue-ey and unappetizing, and where’s the point in that 😀

  8. Death by The Destroying Angels! This was a fun read, given I like things on the dark side. The story moved quickly and even though I realized what was going to happen, I couldn’t stop reading.

    The closing line was excellent and fit the story very well. You also did a good job of describing the slow awareness of Annie’s husband.

    In addition, thanks for including the link to information about these mushroom. After reading about them, I hope I never run into them in a meal. Actually, it might put off mushrooms for awhile:~)

    Well done!

    • thanks!
      They are one of the few mushrooms I remember the name of (and can identify), but a slow death (with lots of … bowel and intestinal issues…*shudders*) doesn’t really work well for a story under 400 words.

  9. I love it! You did a great job with that one Lexy…..although I’m beginning to notice a murderous theme in your writing. First the crazy Red killing the wolves and now this…..:-) Must be that viking blood.

    Great job!

    • thanks! I think it’s just that I have trouble thinking of something interesting to write with only 400 words… it has to happen fast, and to the point, so there goes the epic cross-continental quest for the last dragon by a variety of height-deficient men, including one with hairy feet, or the first year at a school of witchcraft and wizardry for a boy whose unusual past causes him to have scruffy hair, a predisposition for getting in trouble and a very long nickname.
      Or, y’know, the viking blood 🙂 that’d be kind of cool, too! After all – Thor 😀

      • Hey, those are all pretty good story ideas – you should totally develop them! Except the one about the school of witchcraft. NOBODY would go for that premise – sorry.

        • No? what if i paired my MC (Perry? Barry?… maybe Harold…) with a spunky and frumpy smart best bud, and a gawky and awkward friend, who has a huge and very loving family? 😉

  10. “Oh, no! You mean those were *poisonous*??”

    Batting lashes.

    Yeah.

    Nicely done!

  11. Scriptor Obscura

     /  February 1, 2012

    Ooo…Wow…What a story! I love the way that you write. This is a great story! 🙂

