Murphy Plays with Fire, and my Mental Health


I was pretty pleased with myself.  I found a copy of The Girl Who Played with Fire for the rock-bottom price of $2.99.  It would perfectly complement the copies of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who Kicked the Hornets’ NestI was sure it would look great right between them on the shelf.

For those of you unaware of the Stieg Larsson series, the book I bought, that was the second book in the trilogy.

At one point, prior to my purchase, we had all three of them.   The second went walking, before I got the chance to read it.  It’s been gone at least 6 months, so I figured the grieving period is over, and I might as well purchase when the option of a low-priced purchase arises.  We had established that no-one in the house had lent it, or brought it somewhere with them.  It was last seen… with the other books, on the book shelf.  It just… went away.

Within an hour of arriving home and proudly showing the family the sheer genius of I, the purchase of a replacement second-book… I found the original copy, the one that has been missing for 6 months or more.  It was sitting on the book-shelf in Doodle’s room, the same Doodle who has not yet read any part of the series, and has no interest in reading it.  Or, for that matter, moving the second book into her room.

Murphy: 1, My Sanity: 0.

12 Comments

  1. Oh Doodle.

    I did that with one of the HP books, I lent it to my niece and then decided I needed to re-read it, so I bought a paperback copy for myself.

    • don’t you just hate it when you lend out a book and immediately feel the urge to read it? Always happens! by the time I get it back from someone, I’m half convinced it’s the best book on the planet and that nothing I could read would be as enjoyable as that book 🙂

  2. Haha I was wondering if you would find it. You are still young, you don’t know yet. This kind of thing happens.all.of.the.time. 🙂

  3. I would like to mention that I wasn’t there when books were being moved to my room… my room is the storage place while I’m not home, you should know about this problem Lexy.
    I DO have an interest in reading the series, but not now.
    Right now I’m sticking to happy and kind of fluffy books to keep my spirits lifted 😀
    But to any and all reading this:
    It is NOT my fault that Lexy didn’t look EVERYWHERE 😀 It is not my fault it was in my room which I have had no control of what’s been put inside.

    • Doodle – I did check your room on the hunt for the book. I looked everywhere there might be books, so did the rest of the family. We gave up and assumed one of us must have lent it out and forgotten about it 😛

  4. Hahaha! You and Doodle gave me a good laugh this morning!! 😀

  5. Of course you found it,mLexy, right after you purchased another copy. Isn’t that the way of things? By the way, where did you purchase that book for $2.99? We just saw the movie of the first book, and it was hard to watch but terrific. Now I want to read the second one.

    • It really is the way… dastardly Murphy makes sure that things don’t go according to plan!
      I picked it up used at a used things store – Talize, though I don’t know how many places have that particular store. Always useful to spend a few minutes skimming the titles at used stores 🙂

  6. In my house, the correct answer would be that Wonderbutt had eaten it. But yours is much funnier.

    • hah, dimples could actually use ‘My dog ate my homework… yes, the entire replica of an ancient castle made out of lego, all of it!” and have the teacher believe it!

