In Flanders Fields


By: Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae, MD
(1872-1918)
Canadian Army

In Flanders Fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.

Happy Remembrance Day, and thank you, Veterans.

Previous Post

10 Comments

  1. Thanks for educating me. I knew this poem and the poppy connection to Veterans Day, but I hadn’t realized a) That Canadians observed Remembrance Day (I like that!), and b) that the poet behind Flander’s Field was Canadian. Thanks for educating your egotistical neighbors to the south!

    • You are most welcome – I’m sure you aren’t egotistical. Though, if you show up in my neck of the woods for skiing in july… you have only yourself to blame for the mockery 😛

  2. A wonderful post. Thanks for remembering.

  3. Love this photo. Thank you for sharing the poem on such an important day. It’s been a long time since I’ve read it.

    • I can’t take credit for the photo, but i agree – so pretty. I love poppies, such nice flowers.

  4. I am always way behind. Love that poem. When I saw the off Broadway revival of “Jacques Brel is Alive and Living in Paris” a few years ago, they used that poem as the intro to the song “Marieke”. I don’t know if you are familiar with the show, but it is a revue….just songs strung together with no dialogue, so that poem stood out.

    • I haven’t heard of it before, but it sounds really interesting. Very cool that the poem made its way to Broadway (or off Broadway… i don’t entirely understand how the plays are labeled).

  5. My favourite of the war poems. Thanks for sharing it.

