A Twisty Tangential Train of Thought… on Thursday!


I went to Hot Yoga on Tuesday this week… and will be going again Tonight.  Or at least, that’s the plan.

Tuesday’s yoga was far FAR more successful than the previous week’s attempt.  The main difference?  I pre-drank.  All.  Day.  I drank so much water on Tuesday that I was on about the same pee-schedule as the girl who is 8.5 months pregnant.  It’s awkward to show up at the washroom at the same time as someone else every time you go pee.  Especially when the other person has the excuse of a large tiny-person sitting on her bladder and kicking her occasionally.  But at least she isn’t a potty-saurus, and she locks her stall-door adequately, thus preventing me from being a potty-saurus.

The yoga though – that was drastically improved by having pre-hydrated.  I didn’t have to skip any of the poses due to purple-spots-dancing, and I totally rocked the dancer-pose.

My dad bailed on the Tuesday class, initially stating that his knee was bothering him.  He then added that “Those yoga boys will never get up the nerve to chat you up if you’re there with your dad.”

To say the least, he’s worried about me dying alone, a crazy cat-and-or-dog-lady.  He also wants half-naked sweaty men to talk to me.  Awkward…

While I was away, my friend came over to use my basement as the launching point of her staining her kitchen table (hang on… there is a reason for mentioning this).  We’d spent a few days sanding it down to wood, and had bought the stain and  varnish.  Her boyfriend (also my friend)came by to pick her up at the end of this, and showed zero interest in the awesomeness of the table.  Note (and this will make more sense later in the text): He, a boy, had zero interest in the whole handiman-ness of what we had been working on.  Not the ‘oooh, fun, using a belt-sander!’ aspect, or the ‘oooh, wow, look at the grain in the wood now that the stain is on!’ aspect.

In conversation, I brought up what my dad had said.  BF of F asked me if I was sure that any of those sweaty yoga boys were likely to be straight.  *Not in any way attempting to insinuate that them being gay would be a bad thing in general… only bad for my chances of making more-than-just-friends with them.*

I think that it’s likely, considering that hot yoga is pretty tough… and hockey players do it to increase their ability to function on the ice when they’re working hard (ie, heating up a lot) and sweating a lot.  Also, my dad is straight and does yoga.

He replied that my dad doesn’t count – he’s married (*yeah… fair enough.).  And hockey players already have the necessary machismo to go to yoga – your average straight-guy-our-age might feel as though yoga wouldn’t help with his ‘manly image’.

So, I ask you, blogland – is Hot Yoga hardcore/manly enough to qualify as something your average straight-20-something-male can participate in without feeling as though he’s bringing his straight-manliness into question?

"I am macho enough to do hot yoga...right?"

Also, yet again, please don’t take this to mean anything negative about gay men, because that isn’t my intention.  I do get that there are things that a lot of guys wouldn’t be into, partly due to the lack of ‘manliness’ (ie, why most guys aren’t into watching romantic comedies).  I know my main logic for ‘yeah, sure they could be straight’ basically went straight to ‘it can be manly, look – hockey players!‘…but I also think it’s kind of silly to not-do something not because you don’t enjoy it, but because you’re worried about your rep as an ‘eligible straight man’.  Which leads to the question – why is it easier (or so it seems) for gay guys to do these ‘less manly’ things?  Is it just that the requirements for maintaining your rep as an ‘eligible gay man’ are different?  Why is it that straight guys seem to assume that things they don’t do because of the manliness factor must be things that gay guys do?  Also, since we’re on the subject… wrestlers are half-naked and sweaty too – just… more huggy than in yoga.  How is that more ‘straight-manly’?  It’s the possibility of maiming, isn’t it?  I’m right, aren’t I?

You may now step off the Tangential Train, please stand still and wait for the disorientation to pass before continuing on your way.

Previous Post

8 Comments

  1. I think a man who is aware of healthly outlets would do yoga. Just because he’s there doesn’t mean he’s gay.

    I think you might get a sweaty guy to talk to you. 🙂

    • I’m glad you agree with me – hopefully enough straight guys agree that there are some at the hot yoga class 🙂

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh

     /  October 6, 2011

    You’re a riot lexy! 🙂 Every time I walk past a gym or health club that advertises Hot Yoga…..I’m gonna have all kinds of disturbing visions of sweaty dudes stuck in my head…. thanks! 🙂

    • Haha, yeah… hot yoga isn’t exactly an exercise that keeps you looking fresh and relaxed. I acquire my tomato-face after about 10 minutes in there, and no-one looks good completely soaked in sweat 😛

  3. I’m not sure I have the gusto to try hot yoga, so props to you! Though, I’m afraid I don’t know of any single men that partake, either. But my experience is limited having never been in a class.

    Also, I’m sure that squirrel photo will haunt me now. Eep!

    • it’s definitely worth trying if you’re at all into yoga. They have ‘karma classes’ at most studios, where they only charge 5 dollars (or as much as you want to donate) that are a good way of trying things out.
      And yeah, the squirrel/terminator… creepy 😛

  4. The ONLY time I’ve tried bikhram, I blacked out mid-class. Not only was I not properly hydrated; I’d gone out LARGE the night before and was still nursing a hangover. That was an AWESOME idea — rolling into hot yoga severely dehydrated. I’m a dumbass.

    • WOW… I’m just impressed you survived! I was seeing purple spots at various points throughout the class, but i can’t imagine being hungover/dehydrated/tired and doing the class! Don’t judge it based on that experience, though 😛

