Walk Like A Cowboy


There has been a speed-bump in the training process… but never fear – just because I’m not talking about it, doesn’t mean it isn’t there.  It just hurt too much for me to mention for most of last week, and it hasn’t started hurting too much this week… yet.

I completed my THIRD Crossfit class this morning.  Yup… morning.  6am to 7am.  Which means, I woke up at 5am… otherwise known as Satan’s hour.  Having packed my breakfast, lunch, work clothes, towel, sweat-towel, water bottle, and running shoes the night before, I stumbled out of bed at 5 am.  I stumbled, bleary-eyed, to the washroom, brushed my teeth with my eyes closed and leaning against the bathroom counter, considered brushing my hair, and instead pulled the mass up into a ponytail without brushing it, and then snuck quietly downstairs.  All of my things piled at the side-door (at the bottom of the staircase), I stealthily opened that door, piled my arms with my things, and dashed off into the pre-dawn darkness.  5:12 am.  Why?  Because the dog would freak out if he realized that I was up, and not letting him out of his crate to take
him for a walk.  I’ve enlisted Peanut to walk him on Crossfit mornings… that means, there have already been two mornings of unhappy, sleepy Peanut walking baffled-dog at 7am, and there will be 9 more (the first crossfit was in the evening, the second was last Wednesday morning, the third was this morning)… she is only dragging her sleepy butt out of bed for the love of her sister and the furriest member of our family.  Also for the love of cold, hard cash.  Of course.

5:15 am, I was picking A up from her apartment, and we were off… gym-bound and already weary.  This morning, the instructor summarized my weights at the end of it.  I stared at her blankly, unsure why she was telling me this, and she said, “You’ve been keeping track… right?”

Um… sure.  Yes.  Yes I have. In my head.  I bet it’s somewhere in there.

So, with the new information in tow, I’ve figured out approximately what I’ve done, and it is summarized here:

June 16

Introduction to equipment and activities of the day

Four rounds of:

  • 15 Box Jumps
  • 15 Push-ups
  • 15 Pull-ups (first 2.5 rounds with one green band, remaining
    with one green  band and a black band)

Time: 16.5 minutes, ish

The days after: My arms were like noodles.  I could actually physically NOT pull the van trunk closed that weekend.  The dog hurt me every time he tried to drag on the leash.

June 22

Intro to dead-lifts – I got switched to a slightly lower weight of bar than A, and, with that 22.5 lb (junior) bar, and the weights on it, I dead-lifted 52.5 lb.  (to contrast, A lifted at least 70 lb total).  We did five sets of three reps.

Then, timed, we did:

Kettle Bell Swings:Pushups:Squats

21:21:42 + 15:15:30 + 9:9:18

Time: 12:34 ish

The Days After: I spent the following two days walking like a cowboy.  My legs hurt so much, I was bending to reach things on the ground like a decrepit 150 year old with joint problems, and lowering my bum down to the toilet seat was … a process…  This distracted me from my arms, however, which weren’t all that bothered except when I lifted them past shoulder height.

June 27, 2011

5×5 Squats with a bar loaded with weight on our shoulders.  I did about 47.5 lb (including the bar), and A made it up to about 82.5 lb.

Then, we had to do as many sets in 7 minutes of:

10 push-press (just the bar… 22.5 lb.  You start it at your chest, and lift it up until your arms are straight over your head, then return it to your chest)

75 skips

Reps:  I made it three full cycles, and 5 push-presses, while A made it over 4 full.

The Days After: Well… I feel fine now.  But we’ll see.  Also, I really need to practice my skipping, because right now, I do two jumps for every loop of the rope… one big jump, and a second ‘slow my landing’ type baby-hop right after it.  It’s like JUMP-ump.

The Plan:  Mondays and Wednesdays they offer a Groupon class at 6am… we will be there those days until we finish the last of the 12 classes.  If you don’t hear from me again soon, know that I died, or that my arms fell off.  I am not likely to be proficient at
toe-typing.  I think my big toe would interfere a lot in the process, as it is very large, and the rest of my toes, while move-able, aren’t all that strong.

Also part of the plan – get proficient/strong enough to keep up with A in the realm of weight-lifting.  I don’t really foresee this as being possible… but one can dream!  And until then, hopefully the teacher will stop apologizing when she says I shouldn’t add any more weight to my bar while A is adding more to hers.  Really… I’m ok with it!  If I tried to keep up with A, I would be squashed like a bug.  And, hopefully, we’ll do more pull-ups… because I can definitely do that more proficiently than things with weighted bars.

Previous Post

11 Comments

  1. Sounds like you’re coming along great! That class would have lost me at the thought of getting up at 5:00 AM – that’s obscene!! 😉

    • the hour sucks… but it is much easier to go to in the morning than a class in the evening, after having worked a full day and walked the dog.

  2. Good for you Lexi! As in yoga, just measure yourself against yourself.There is always someone better and always someone worse. But in your skin is just you so no one else matters. Fred

    • I am definitely the someone worse at the moment, out of the people at the crossfit gym. However, in yoga, I’m almost always the someone better (at the things requiring bendiness, anyways), so I suppose it all balances out 🙂 The important thing is that i’m definitley pushing myself in this exercise, and enjoying the challenge of it. I’ve never done anything like it before.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh

     /  June 27, 2011

    I’m now sore and worn-out after just reading this post….whew!….. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  4. God Bless you honey! I did squats when I picked strawberries last weekend and cried the day after anytime my butt wanted to do something!

    Keep up the great work!!

  5. Hopefully your arms will not fall off because I would miss your posts. 🙂

    • thanks, lol. I’m hoping against the arm-falling-off option too, because eating is another thing I probably can’t do well with my feet 😀

  6. pawsitivelife

     /  June 28, 2011

    Cross fit scares me as much as early morning workouts. I am intrigued by it though, some many people swear by it

    • I was very intimidated by the idea of it – I don’t think I’d have gotten up the nerve if I didn’t have a buddy to go with. I haven’t been doing it long enough to ‘swear by it’, but I’m really enjoying it, and would recommend trying it to anyone. There are people of all shapes, ages, and fitness levels there, and you really are only competing with yourself. The instructors aren’t trying to kill you, just push you to a higher level of effort than you thought was possible.
      Most of the places I’ve seen advertised have a 1 free class, or a very inexpensive trial-month option. Or, Groupon, a great way to try for less money 🙂

