Getting in Gear for the MS Society


Before I really get into this post, let me make this clear:  I have read posts by people whose blogs I read that are very very against what I’m about to do… in general.  But I’m not doing exactly what it is you dislike (if you’re reading this… also, I dislike it too), so please bear with me. 

My first thought was “Absolutely not, just don’t do it… don’t even mention it, it is irritating, and everyone will stop reading your blog”, but then I figured, if I don’t, then I’ve gained nothing, and hopefully the people who do enjoy reading my blog will realise that I’m not trying to be irritating, and come back to visit afterwards. 

So… what is this diabolical thing that is making my fingers creak in protest of writing it?  The dreaded… fundraise.

*flinches away from the thrown rotten tomatoes and other vegetables*… *wonders why people are always carrying around rotten produce*

To be clear:  this is not money for me.  Nor is it something I will be harping on constantly… you’ll likely hear about my training and that’s about it.  I think this is a great cause, and the money is going to help people, but I still hate the part where I ask for money for it.  Some of you still here?  Ok, then, here is the Shpiel:

I’m doing a bike ride to raise money for MS research.  Multiple sclerosis is a disease that affects vision, hearing, memory, balance and mobility, and it has no cure.  It is a disease of the central nervous system, which consists of the brain and spinal cord, and it affects those afflicted with it both physically and emotionally.  It affects a person’s ability to walk, causes fatigue, pain, spasms, and numbness as well as causing emotional issues including depression and bipolar disorder.  There is a huge list of symptoms, though not all symptoms affect every person with MS, and the severity varies greatly between people.  You can find a lot of information about this disease at the MS Society of Canada website, or just googling Multiple Sclerosis, but the bottom line is, it has no cure, can show up in just about anyone, at any stage of life, and it hugely affects quality of life.

No more rotten tomatoes?  Please? 

My ride is August 13 to 14th, and I’ll be riding from Acton to Waterloo, in Ontario.  The ride will be about 150 km  – a bit under 100 miles.  I’m aiming to raise $250, which is a bit under 2 dollars per km.

If you’re interested in donating to my ride, you can follow this link, or you can click on the RONA MS Bike Tour button on my sidebar.  It is a tax deductible donation, and the profits go to finding a cure and helping people who have MS.  If you’re not interested, no worries.  I’m not trying to guilt-trip or brow-beat people into donating.  Your decision to donate or not does not impact whether kittens are crying somewhere, nor will Gwynn be making his sad face because of a lack of donation. 

Another way you could help is to participate yourself – get out and ride!  Or join a Walk!  Check out this link for info about the bike tours available – they’re all across Canada.  Or this link for info about Walks.  I would be even happier to hear that you’d joined a fundraiser than if you donated to my ride.  If you’re outside of Canada, I’m sure that you’ve got an MS Society in your country, and I’m sure they’re also doing some great fundraising events this year.

My plan is to start keeping track of my daily mileage in a blatant rip-off of Mark from The Idiot Speaketh and Pedaleth.  Although, since I’m in Canada (Eh!), it’ll be measured in kilometres.  Hopefully having to post my fails and successes will keep me motivated to get out for a bike ride after walking the dog!  I’ll try to be riding on the road on my own bike, or at a spin class (less likely to have mileage from that) at least 5 times a week.

If this post still irritates and outrages you because of its money-begging nature… let me know!  Also, Sorry!  I wasn’t (and am still not) entirely sure about the appropriateness of asking for donations from people in the blogosphere.  I hope, though, that even if you’re outraged at the begging aspect of this post, that you take a moment to learn a bit more about MS, or maybe look into joining an event in your area.

8 Comments

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh

     /  May 19, 2011

    Lexy….I have happily donated to your great cause! Using your blog to help raise funds for a worthy cause is awesome! With your permission, I would happy to link to this post on my next blog posting….. every extra reader might really help. Best of luck with your training! I’ll be sitting on my exercise bike on the shoulder of the highway rooting you on as you blaze past! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for donating! I would definitely appreciate you linking to this post, I’m sure it would help a lot!
      Who knows, maybe by august you’ll be heading through Southern Ontario, and can join the ride in spirit before heading on to more adventures in the great white north!

      • TheIdiotSpeaketh

         /  May 19, 2011

        I shall try to do just that!……I’ll hit eastern Canada now and then will meander around the US a bit for most of the summer and will get back up to Ontario in time for your ride! Just remind me a couple dozen times between now and then….. My idiot memory is horrible……. 🙂

  2. I think using your blog for this worthy charity is fine! Good luck.

    • I’m glad to hear i’m not getting the wrath of Blogland directed at me – I really really hate the smell of rotten produce.
      Also, thank you so much for donating to my ride, I really appreciate it!

  3. I didn’t have a blog when I was raising money for my half-marathon last October, but I would have used it if I did.

    I donated a little. Rock on for doing this!

    • Wow – a half marathon would be intense! Hopefully it went well, and I’ll keep an eye out on your blog for your future racing endeavors 🙂
      Thank you so much for donating to my race!

  1. The Idiotic Science of falling elephants « L' IDIOT SPEAKETH ET PEDALETH
