An Update on Friday


I am slowly meandering my way through the murky waters of understanding blogging in general, and my blog’s setup in particular.  I finally figured out what it is that I need to do to add a nifty blogroll to my sidebar.  Unfortunately, it’ll take a bit of time to get everything up there that I want, because there are A LOT of blogs I really enjoy, and I prefer reading them to tinkering with my dashboard. 

Check out this link to Time to Train your Dog to see a guest post I did about the awesomeness of the Kong Wobbler.  And to check out all the great posts Angel already has!  She has a background in dog training, and can help you with all sorts of training tips.  She’s also got a great series of posts about getting a new dog or puppy that goes over things you should consider and things you should do and have before you bring your new furry family member home.  Keep an eye out here for some guest-posts from her on this site as well. 

Tonight I will spin like a fiend.  Tomorrow and Sunday, Gwynn and I will commune with nature and our inner wolves.  Tomorrow night I’ll dress like a pirate, and farewell-party-hearty with my mateys.  Sunday I will attempt to prove myself to be both a top-chef and master of organizational skills.  I’m planning on trying out this Parsley and Leek Tart recipe on Sunday, and taking five days’ worth to hide in the fridge at work for use as breakfast or lunch.  This past week, I did this with stirfry (a bit overcooked, but I’ll make it better next time) and oatmeal, and it is amazing how much more efficient I was in the morning!  Maximized walking-time without impinging on sleep-time or abusing my stomach with less-than-appetizing peanutbutter sandwiches.

Maybe I’ll even attempt to gather the pictures/memories to write a post about my trip to NYC sometime next week as well!

12 Comments

  1. you better post about NYC, missy! Get the sidebar done, as well – as it’s easier for you to click and visit while within your blog. I do it all the time! 🙂

    Some people have “buttons” too…which you pull the text and then take your “text widgit” and place on the sidebar and add the text. It’s a fun way to spice things up…if that’s your thing or not.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    • P.S. I saw I MADE IT! thank you for linking 🙂

      I’ll be adding you to my neighborhood as soon as the darn A-Z thingy is over…and once I have gathered some info on you to write up something nice. I like to do something personal and link to different posts, so it takes a little time and creativity! 🙂

      Have a SUPER weekend! 🙂

    • I will definitely be posting about NYC – I’ve got it partly written, and need to gather some photos to go with it. It looks like it might end up divided into multiple posts, just to keep them in the reasonable-blog-length zone.
      In future, I might go asking you about adding buttons for each link, but for now I’m just pleased to see that they show up on the blog itself.

  2. Spinning, inner-wolfing, pirating, and cooking all in one weekend. If the police ask you to account for your time this weekend, this will all sound made up to them.

    • Wait till I tell them about the Yaks our Inner-Wolves ran into – then they’ll be sure I belong on a funny farm!

      • Did you literally run into Yaks or is Yaks another slang term for something?

        • Literally Yaks… as in enormous shaggy cow-creature. Luckily, the one that came close was pretty tame, and also on the other side of a fence, but Gwynn still had a moment with the yak, standing nose-to-nose through the fence. He might have run into his inner shepherd while communing with his inner wolf this weekend.

  3. Oooohhh…that tart looks yummy!

    Yes, you must blog about NYC. We will be there this fall and would love to read about where you visited!

    • The tart is excellent – very filling and flavorful. I used Summer Savory in the crust and in the leek mixture as well, to add a bit more taste.

  4. I am still weeding through the murky waters of blogging mself. Someone told me I needed a tagline and it took me 1/2 an hour to figure out how to do it. I’m still trying to figure out what the tagline should be!

    My point is hang in there, somehow it will all come together, great job with the postings.

    • Your blog is great – clearly you’re making your way through the murky waters very well 🙂
      I might have to look into this tag-line business, but for now, I’m just happy that I’ve got a blogroll. Even if it does reveal that I keep up with way too many blogs!

  1. Update… | Thewonderingchef's Blog
