Master Class – Rewired


Last week on Master class, the following was given for a first line of a story.  Click through to add your own piece or read the rest of the submissions!

I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen. I was on the fast track to any school I wanted – my fastball was clocked at 106 MPH.  A motorcycle accident, two weeks in a coma and three surgeries to straighten my leg out, and I found myself with an awful lot of time doing not much of anything, with no-one around to keep me company.  Turns out, the people who hang around with popular-you aren’t always the ones who stick with you through the tough times.  My extraordinary life plan was as out of reach as the sun. Laid up in hospital with my life in shambles, I wasn’t much in the mood to read my usual sports mags.  Reading was a great escape, though, and I went through the hospital library pretty quickly.  My brother rolled his eyes when I asked him to hit up the public library for me.  But since my accident, he’d hung up his helmet – the star quarterback learned his lesson from the has-been pitcher’s accident - so use of my parents’ van was granted in return for ‘helping your brother out’.  Not one to go above and beyond, he’d swing by the library once a week, check out a shelf of books at random and return the ones I’d read. His lazy library visits did one good thing – they brought me the book that would change my life. Programming Your Life, by Franko Brunne, had an overly cheerful picture of the man himself giving two thumbs up on the cover.  I know what you’re thinking… so this is what hitting rock bottom sounds like. I didn’t even have a laptop, but reading this book, I just had to try it out.  Franko’s shtick was that writing the computer code for things you wanted to come true would “rewire your world”.  It sounds lame, but hey, rock-bottom-jock, here.  I was willing to try anything. His coding wasn’t quite like any programming language I’d already read about.  And, with my brother working his way through the ‘computer’ section of the library, I’d read a lot. My first attempt was to write a code for my brother to bring me a coke.  Easy enough, right?  It could even happen, theoretically, without the code.  If Jon weren’t such a tool. Nada.  He didn’t even come into my room with a coke of his own.  I found where I went wrong - no time requirements – and rewrote it. It was the most refreshing soda ever, and little bro didn’t even know it wasn’t his own idea. I practised on small things.  Jon’d moved into the sci-fi and fantasy shelves, which definitely gave me some ideas. I fixed my leg – a miraculous recovery, my doctors said – but I never did get that sports scholarship.  My leg wasn’t even my biggest accomplishment so far.  Making things that already existed change wasn’t nearly as impressive as what I could create from nothing but a bit of led and lined paper.

This is a photomanipulation type piece of artwork by FictionChick on DeviantArt. Click the image to go to her site and check out more of her work. It’s all wicked, and I love the surreal landscapes she creates. Every one of her pieces looks like it’s got its own story, and, if we’re judging books by their covers, I would totally read them all.

 

Previous Post

9 Comments

  1. I agree that the things that come from a bit of lead and a piece of paper are indeed the greatest creations ever. You’ve been missed and I’m glad you linked up!

    • I’m glad to be back – I get distracted by life and then realize that the things I am making time for aren’t things I like as much as writing!
      All it takes is a few marks on a piece of paper, a dash of imagination, and you’ve got a potent magic spell :)

  2. Really cool story, it would make an excellent graphic novel.

    • I don’t suppose you happen to be a graphic artist? That would make a pretty cool graphic novel for sure, but my stick figures aren’t quite on par with the Watchmen or Scott Pilgrim! Or even Cyanide and Happiness, really

  3. What a great piece of artwork. I will definitely go by and check the rest of her stock out.

    The writing was very real to me. When I was still a teen (yeah that was a long time ago now), I went to a seminar called “Programming Your Unconscious Computer” that said what you wrote about in this story. It was fun to see it brought out of the dark and into the light again from the bed of an obvious adventuring spirit.

    I enjoyed the read, thank you!
    k~

    • Really? I want to go to that seminar! That’s amazing :) I love the idea of things you read and write coming to life, though I’m sure your seminar was more focused on changing your ways of thinking and less on writing an epic pet dragon into existence.

  1. Master Class 2014 Volume IX | My Write Side
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

